Change and fragmentation

Following the expulsion of the Christian forces from the Holy Land, the Order of Saint Lazarus stationed its headquarters at Boigny near Orléans in France. By the 15th century the general management of the Order gravitated towards three centres: the main centre at Boigny with subservient houses extending through France, Central Europe, and Hungary; a southern Italian centre at Capua assuming independent responsibility for the holdings in the Kingdom of Sicily; and an English centre at Burton Lazars assuming independent responsibility for holdings in England. The English branch of the Order was eventually abolished by King Henry VIII in 1544; though not by Papal consent. The second half of the 16th century was to see the remaining two factions of the Order follow different courses in their subsequent history.